Navy Takes Three in a Row with Victory in Annual Army-Navy Golf Classic

On May 21, 2010, the Naval Academy Alumni Association of Atlanta (Navy) once again easily outdistanced the West Point Society of Atlanta (Army) in the 14th annual Army-Navy Golf Classic, an annual spring competition that was begun in 1997. Navy has won 11 of the 14 events to date. As before, the golf competition and awards dinner that followed took place at the Golfers Club at Fort McPherson. Proceeds from the event
(nearly $1,500.00) went to provide tuition for needy youngsters in the Atlanta area to attend the SummerScape math, science, and computer camp at Georgia Tech this

The golfers were blessed again this year as the usual spring showers stopped before play began and began again just as the last shots were being taken. Everyone enjoyed the golf and camaraderie as well as a very fine dinner with prizes. Prizes this year included a $200 dinner, a new three-wood golf club, and

Despite again missing some regulars this year, the event enjoyed the participation of a few new faces for the Blue and Gold. Using the modified Stableford scoring system, the final score was Navy at +106 to ArmyÂ’s

Participating in the 2010 Army-Navy Golf Classic were the following: Johns Jaudon ’55; Jack Clay ’56 and guests Alan Crowell, Clark Pickett, and Buddy Weir; Ken Strahm ’57; Carl McCallum ’60 and son Carl McCallum, Jr.; Harvey Cybul ’62; Tony Womble ’63; Marc Calhoun ’64; Lorie Moore ’64; Richard Wilson ’64; Stew Caldwell ’65; Rick Adams ’65; Bill Hunt ’65; Peter Peterson ’65; Joe Frazar ’65; Will Wood ’66; Larry Bergen ’66 and guests John Anderson, Bill McMancus, and Grace McManus; Win Rorabaugh ’70; Mitch Roland ’71; Tom Galloway ’72 and guests Alan Shaul, Ed Brewster, and Carlton Bruton; Steve Frederick ’72 and guests Harold Fernandez and John Harcharic; Ples Bruce ’77; Byron Marchant ’78; Eddie Meyers ’82; Doug Hintze ’83 and guest Ron Bartholomew; Doug Edwards ’86; J. P. Grant ’96; and Karlton Holston ‘02. Navy again brought many more players to the field of honor than

In the Stableford competition, and winning increasingly bigger gift certificates, were Ples Bruce in 4th place; Byron Marchant in 3rd; and Doug Hintze in 2nd. Eddie Meyers took first place for Navy and won $100 worth of golf merchandise as well as a set of N-Starr engraved wine classes. Ed Brewster, guest of Tom Galloway, was closest to the pin on Par 3 7th hole and Johns Jaudon was closet to the pin of the Par 3 12th

We look forward to the 15th renewal of the classic in May 2011. All golfing USNAAAA members in the Atlanta area are invited to join us for the competition and camaraderie. ItÂ’s always a fun time for all.

This entry was posted in Navy Football Gatherings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.